My Oven

One of the best things about learning to cook in a foreign country is getting around the “issues” you find in your own kitchen. It’s not quite as simple as turning on the oven and walking away to let it preheat for the amazing cake you are about to make. Not so here… Here in my new home, I have an oven that can actually fit more than a pie pan in it, which I thank God for every time I use it! However, I also have some other issues that make baking a little more complicated. Meet my oven…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She’s a beauty, right?! But, she has a quirk…there are no numbers on her knobs. In fact, there is no auto thermostat because the oven won’t even kick off when it gets to a certain temperature. I do, however, have a temperature gauge on the glass window in the door, so I know when it has gone way past and beyond the temperature I’m aiming for. Unfortunately, it is terrible for whatever happens to be inside the oven by the time I get the reading on my thermometer. Baking is always an adventure. In the States, I wouldn’t always ¬†take the time for the oven to fully preheat. Here it is an absolute necessity so that I know it’s sitting in the right temperature setting.

Thanks for joining me on this adventure, and welcome to my orange kitchen!

Leave a Reply

