Baby Pineapple

When I first went to the nursery to buy plants, I wanted to get some plants that I could eat in the end. Aloe was on the list of things as well as chili peppers. They were out of chili peppers, and I learned that avocado trees take years to produce, nor do they do well in a pot, which at this point is all I’ve got! I did, however, find an aloe plant, a baby lime tree and a baby pineapple plant. Both fruits are sitting on my rooftop. The limes won’t grow for a couple of years, but the pineapple is on it’s way to be eaten! However, My little plant isn’t looking so healthy. I’m not sure the transplant into a new pot and a new home went over well with it. I think it has gotten too much water lately, which may be why it is turning yellow.

I do have to tell you, I have struck blood several times, just from watering it-its leaves are very much a weapon. There are small thorns on the edges of the leaves. Hopefully, my baby pineapple will make it to a fully developed pineapple, but if not, I have learned more about pineapples and perhaps will be more successful the next time.

I’m not sure about those of you in the States, but before I moved to Cambodia, I didn’t know how a pineapple actually grew. Only one pineapple can grow at a time on a plant and they take around six months to grow one. If you are interested in trying your hand at growing your own pineapple I found these great instructions online. Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

