A Dusty Recipe

A week ago I tried a recipe that I cut out and saved to “make” about 10 years ago. Amazing, I know! I clipped it back in the days when I wanted to cook, but didn’t have the time, energy, or money to cook the things I wanted to. I probably would have had more energy if I was eating better though! The recipe worked out great and everything was phenomenal. I cut it out of a Martha Stewart Everyday Food Magazine back in 2002 or ’03. This recipe was good not only because it tasted great, but because it was fast and cooked all in one pan. This means I spent less time in the kitchen and had fewer dishes to clean. (The hubby likes that since he is the cleaner!) Here is the salmon recipe, but I can’t tell you what month or year it was published.

I also did an experiment with some okra. It was on its last leg, and I wanted to try something new. One of my favorite ways to cook broccoli and cauliflower is broiled, so I did the same thing tonight with okra. Cut it, throw it in a bowl and drizzle a little olive oil on it. Add salt and pepper to taste, and I added a couple of minced cloves of garlic. I also sliced a chili to spice it up as well. Shake everything around to coat it, (A Ziplock bag works well for this, too.) and dump it in a pan. Stick it under the broiler for a few minutes, stir, and put it back under for a few more minutes. We like ours really toasted (meaning just about black). They were crunchy and reminded me of fried okra, without all the frying. I highly recommend trying it!

One thought on “A Dusty Recipe

Leave a Reply

